Supplemental Type Certificates (STC)

On 1 June 2005, Iceland became a member of the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA). After that date, it is only permissible to use STC with an EASA approval for aircraft registered in Iceland. If such an approval is not in place, an approval from EASA must be obtained. All STC which were in aircraft registered in Iceland before 1 June 2005 can continue to be used without a special approval from EASA, they create a “grandfather right”. For further information, see Regulation (EU) No. 748/2012 (Part-21).

STC in use before 1 June 2005

STC which were in Icelandic aircraft prior to admission into EASA have now been registered in the database of the Icelandic Transport Authority. However, the fault with these registrations is that they are only those registrations which air operators and aircraft owners reported before the admission. Judging from the data, it can be assumed that they are quite exhaustive in terms of larger aircraft. In terms of smaller aircraft, this registration is in all likelihood far from being as comprehensive as it needs to be.

Click here to view all registered STC in Iceland ordered by aircraft type

European STC
EASA   Here, you can find lists which EASA has issued since 03/06/2004. “Grandfathered” STC which EASA has accepted as valid from JAA since 29/09/2003 and are issued before that are not listed. EASA plans to add to the list all STC which were approved between October 2003 and June 2004.

Link to the Web sites of European Civil Aviation Authorities

Here, you can view STC which are registered at European Civil Aviation Authorities:
German Civil Aviation Authority - Federal Aviation Office (Luftfahrt-Bundesamt [LBA])
UK Civil Aviation Authority (UK CAA)
Danish Civil Aviation Authority (Statens Luftfartsvæsen [SLV])
Swedish Civil Aviation Authority
Joint Aviation Authorities (JAA)

Federal Aviation Administration - FAA    Note that FAA STC need EASA approval in order to be legal in Europe.

Was the content helpful? Yes No