Travel restrictions for UK citizens due to Covid-19


As of 1st of January 2021 (at 00h00 CET) British citizens, who now enjoy travel rights as EEA/EFTA nationals, will have the status of third-country nationals when the transition period following the UK´s departure from the EU and thereby the EEA ends on 31st of December 2020 (23h59 CET).

This means, as of 1st of January 2021, British citizens will be subject to the same entry requirements as other third country nationals. In an unchanged scenario, travel restrictions due to COVID-19 that now apply to third country nationals will in the same way apply to British citizens, unless they can prove to be exempted from the restrictions. Travels of British citizens can therefore be affected while travel restrictions are in place.

An important exemption is that British citizens (and their family members) who reside in Iceland or have a residence permit or right of residence before 31st of December 2020 will maintain their residence rights after 1st of January 2021 in accordance with the Separation Agreement signed by the EEA/EFTA states and the UK. Those British citizens (and their family members) will therefore be able to travel to and from Iceland and travel restrictions due to Covid-19 will not apply to them. Until the Icelandic authorities start issuing the new type of residence permit card for British citizens with the right to reside in Iceland prior to 1st January 2021, British citizens benefiting from the Separation Agreement can proove their right of residence in Iceland with the Residence certificate (C-122) issued by Registers Iceland (Þjóðskrá). The residence certificate is available electronically and processing time is up to two business days.