Restrictions on non-essential travel prolonged until 15 May


The Minister of Justice has announced that travel restrictions that came into effect on March 20 will be extended until 15 May 2020, in accordance with the EU Commission recommendation to the Schengen Member States.

The scope of travel restrictions remains unchanged. Foreigners, who are neither EU/EEA nor EFTA nationals, continue not to be allowed to enter Iceland unless they can demonstrate that their travel is essential.

Further information on to whom the travel restrictions apply and who is exempt from them can be found in a an article on the Directorate of Immigration website.

Here you can also read the Directorate's answers to various questions related to COVID-19.