Restrictions on non-essential travel prolonged until 15 June


The Minister of Justice has announced that travel restrictions that came into effect on March 20 will be extended until 15 June 2020, in accordance with the EU Commission recommendation to the Schengen Member States.

The scope of travel restrictions remains unchanged. Foreigners, who are neither EU/EEA nor EFTA nationals, continue not to be allowed to enter Iceland unless they can demonstrate that their travel is essential.

Further information on to whom the travel restrictions apply and who is exempt from them can be found in a previous article on the Directorate's website.

Individuals arriving in Iceland from countries and areas defined with high risk of infection must still undergo a 14-day quarantine from their day of arrival. However, professionals and others traveling to Iceland for work may be eligible for modified quarantine. Border control at the internal borders will be extended according to the decision of the Ministry of Justice until 15 June 2020.

According to the government's announcement, no later than 15 June 2020, travelers are expected to be given a choice between a two-week quarantine or being tested for the virus upon arrival, or otherwise proving that they are free of corona virus infection.

See announcement on The Directorate of Immigration web page.

Updated 5 June 2020