Restrictions on non-essential travel prolonged until 1 July


The Minister of Justice has announced that travel restrictions that came into effect on March 20 will be extended until 1 July 2020, in accordance with the EU Commission recommendation to the Schengen Member States.

Foreigners, who are neither EU/EEA nor EFTA nationals, continue not to be allowed to enter Iceland unless they can demonstrate that their travel is essential.

To whom do the travel restrictions apply?

The travel restrictions apply to all Foreign Nationals, other than EU/EEA, EFTA or UK Nationals, irrespective of whether they require a visa to travel to the Schengen Area or not. Information on exemptions from the travel restrictions is available on The Directorate of Immigration web page.

To whom do the travel restrictions not apply?

The travel restrictions do not apply to:

  • EU/EEA and EFTA citizens
  • UK citizens
  • Individuals with a valid residence permit in Iceland or any of the Schengen Member States
  • Family members of Icelandic or other EU/EFTA citizens, in particular spouses, cohabiting partners, direct descendants and dependent direct relatives in the ascending line.

As of June 15, the above-mentioned individuals can choose to be tested for COVID-19 upon arrival instead of 14 days of quarantine, see information for travelers to Iceland after 15 June on The Directorate of Immigration web page.

Ministry of Justice: Prolongation of border controls at the Icelandic internal borders

Announcement regarding requirement that everyone arriving into Iceland from risk areas will be subject to mandatory self-quarantine for 14 days or opt for a COVID-19 test upon arrival.